Children

Children's Event Quick View

Today's Events

Full Calendar | Event Calendar RSS

Book Clubs for Kids

The Abington Public Library offers two book clubs for Abington children.  All book clubs meet on Monday evenings at 5:30pm from October to May with space for 15 participants in each club.  For more information, please see Amy or Sandy in the Children's Room. Check our these books that we read last school year.

(Sometimes schedules don't work out to attend book club, but these are still great lists of books for kids to read!)

Junior Cliffhanger Book Club for Kids and Parents introduces kids and parents to the art of talking about a book in a group setting.  Short novels encourage children to read critically.  Jr. Cliffhanger Book Club is for kids in grades 1 - 3 plus a parent reading partner.

Take a look at what we will be reading in book club this year!

Monday, October 3 - Alvin Ho: Allergic to Girls, School, and Other Scary Things by Lenore Look
Monday, November 7 - 26 Fairmount Avenue - Tomie dePaola
Monday, January 9 - Encyclopedia Brown, Boy Detective by Donald Sobel
Monday, February 6 - Francine Poulet Meets the Ghost Raccoon by Kate DiCamillo
Monday, March 6 - Matilda by Roald Dahl
Monday, April 3 - The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary
Monday, May 1 - A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond

 

Cliffhanger Book Club for Kids and Parents is for kids in grades 4 - 5  plus a parent reading partner.  What happens at book club?  We talk about favorite / least favorite characters, compare our funniest / strangest / saddest scenes, have a snack, hangout together and more!

Take a look at what we will be reading in book club this year!

Thursday, October 27 - A Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket    
Monday, November 14    - Knucklehead by John Scieszka
Monday, January  9 - A Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo
Monday, February 13 - When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead
Monday, March 13 - Touch Blue by Cynthia Lord
Monday, April 10 - Wonderstruck by Brian Selznick
Tuesday, May 9 - Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer Holm

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save


roundededge